Postscript

The most stressful part about creating this portfolio has come from narrowing down what I wanted to write about, and relating it to one of the given competencies. Most, if not all of the possible topics related to feminism, and I’m still not quite sure if this would somehow get off topic.

I took Communications 1 Fall Quarter and gave a persuasive speech on feminism. I briefly considered using the script as a topic, but could not quite find a place for it under any of the competencies. I wanted to keep writing forever about how “Orphan Black” is starkly underrated despite its powerful and positive messages. I wanted to try and relate each of the competencies to film or television, since this is what I am most familiar with, but I am ultimately happy with how the portfolio has turned out.

I have only now realized that I experienced frustration nearly each and every class session this quarter. I don’t believe this is an entirely negative realization, but instead a demonstration of how I have become more aware and consequently more critical of the way we operate in daily life. I have become more critical of what is considered normal and I have tried to become more considerate to open-minded ways of thinking about gender. Beyond that, I have grown more confident in challenging how men and women are meant to act by refusing to take gender roles as true and unchangeable. Moreover, I have come started to continually ask myself  why I feel uncomfortable in situations where these roles are not followed, hoping that with time, the discomfort will disappear completely. Yet, I admit that I probably will not feel comfortable speaking in the masculine style anytime soon. My conversation in the masculine style with the student sitting next to me was probably one of the most difficult I’ve had, because all I wanted to do while she spoke was nod and hum in agreement.

This class has been one of the most stressful I’ve ever taken. The readings are fairly easy to comprehend and remember, the midterm was not extremely difficult and the papers have been enjoyable to write, but sitting in this classroom, twice a week for 75 minutes has been stressful. Having to not only listen to, but discuss and accept the reality that the world is flawed in such a fundamental way that it seems impossible to change is stressful. There is so much that has to happen for things to get better that it is stressful having to just think about it. But I believe I have become wiser, and less overwhelmed by the notion that it will take time. Beyond taking a course on integral calculus or psychobiology, or astronomy, I believe that what I’ve learned, I won’t forget after taking the final exam.

Standard

Leave a comment